2018 Athens-Clarke County Spring Elections: Who and What

This year’s The Athens Clarke County local election is taking place takes place right around the corner on May 22nd. This election will include the General Primary, non-partisan primary, and a special election. Six commissioner seats, two judge seats and one mayor seat are all up for grabs this election season. 

Nancy Denson is currently the Athens-Clarke County mayor. She is not running for re-election. Mayors serve two-year terms with the opportunity to serve two terms for a total of four years. The candidates running for her seat are Harry Sims, Kelly Girtz and Richie Knight


This year, two judge seats are up for re-election. For both seats, the incumbents are running again. 

Superior Court Judge

  • Lisa Lott
  • Regina Quick (incumbent) 
  • Eric Norris, (incumbent) 
  • Allison Mauldin

Athens-Clarke County Unified Government is made up of 10 districts. This year all the odd numbered districts are up for re-election, along with a special election for district 2- which became vacant when Harry Sims resigned to run for Mayor. Commissioners serve four-year terms and have legislative powers to create boards, departments and also adopt ordinances. 

County Commissioner Candidates

District 1:

  • Patrick Davenport
  • Sharyn Dickerson(incumbent)

District 2 special election:             

  • Mariah Parker
  • Taylor Pass

District 3:

  • Tony Eubanks
  • Melissa Link (incumbent)

District 5:

  • Jared Bailey (incumbent)
  • Danielle Benson
  • Tim Denson

District 7:

  • Carl Blount
  • Russell Edwards
  • Bill Overend

District 9:

  • Ovita Thornton
  • Tommy Valentine

Board of Education 

District 1: Greg Davis(incumbent)

District 3: Linda Davis(incumbent)

District 5: Imani Scott-Blackwell & Kara Dyckman

District 7: Carol Williams(incumbent) & LaKeisha Gantt

District 9: Tawana Mattox


For even more information on the Athens-Clarke County Spring election visit THIS site.


  • Show Comments (1)

  • Kyle Bendix

    Is it too much to ask for just ONE conservative republican running for ACC major? The 2018 mayoral roster of candidates is PATHETIC! All leftists.

Comments are closed.

You May Also Like

Thomas Rhett Talks About 2013 Night Train Tour

The Classic City is counting down the hours until country music comes to Sanford ...

Boil Water Advisory Still in Effect

If you live in western Clarke County, local officials say you should STILL be boiling ...

Choosing Study Spaces That Avoid Crowds

Final exams are only a month away. Common study spots for UGA students, like ...

Add Comment
Viewing Highlight